Reset Form

lForms Menu | Main Menu

Michigan Department of Treasury

2748 (Rev. 6-04) OFFICE USE ONLY

Senior Citizen or Totally and Permanently Disabled

File No.

Person's Affidavit Requesting Special Assessment Deferment

1. Filer's First Name and Middle Initial Last Name 2a. Your Social Security No. 2b. Your Date of Birth

If a Joint Return, Spouse's First Name and Middle Initial |Last Name 3a. Spouse's Social Security No. |3b. Spouse's Date of Birth

Home address (number and street or RR#)

City or Town State ZIP Code 4. Home Telephone Number

PART | - ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION (This part to be completed by applicant)

© ® N

10.
11.

See instructions on reverse side
5.

Are youU (a) CitiZen(s) OF the UNIEEA SEAES? .........................oooooeoeeeecceese e eceeees e eeeees e eeees oo Llves [lno
Have you been (a) resident(s) of Michigan for five years or more? .. Llvyes Olno
Have you been the sole owner(s) of the homestead for five or more years? ... ... Llvyes Olno

What is the type or purpose of the special assessment?

When is the next installment payment due on the special assessment?

Month Day Year

Total household income for the past Calendar Year ... $

a. Is there a mortgage or land contract on your homestead? ..., L] ves Clno
b. Has the mortgagee or land contract holder on your homestead consented to this request

for a special assessment deferment? (A copy of the written consent MUST BE ATTACHED) ..o, U] YES ] NO
c. Are you totally and permanently disabled and receiving benefits under Social Security? ... L] ves Clno

12.

| (we) declare under penalty of perjury that | (we) qualify for the deferment of special assessments on this homestead as defined in P.A.
225 of 1976, as amended; that | (we) have examined this affidavit and to the best of my (our) knowledge and belief it is true, correct and
complete; and | (we) acknowledge that the amount of the assessment deferred will be subject to an interest rate of 1/2 of 1 percent per
month or fraction of a month (6 percent per year) when the deferment is repaid to the State. IF THIS DEFERMENT IS AUTHORIZED,
THE STATE WILL PLACE A LIEN ON YOUR PROPERTY.

Signature Date Spouse's Signature Date

PART Il - DEFERRED TAX ASSESSMENT COMPUTATION (To be completed by local assessor)

14.
15.

See instructions on reverse side.
13.

Original amount of special assessment (must be $300.00
or more to qualify; attach tax bill) $
Amount paid on special assessmentby owner $
a. Amount of assessment to be deferred (line 13 less line 14) .. $
b. Amount of line 15a which is delinquent (attach tax bill) to:
Local Unit ... $
COUNtY ...ooovore, $

16.

Complete legal description of owned and occupied homestead:

17.

| have examined the above affidavit and determined that the amount claimed is correct. The above named applicant(s) is (are) aware of the 1/2
of 1 percent per month or portion of a month interest provision. The consent of the mortgagee or land contract holder, if applicable, is attached and
the requirements of P.A. 225 of 1976, as amended, have been satisfied by the applicant(s).

Assessing Officer Signature County

City, Village or Township Federal Employer I.D. No. Assessor Telephone Number

This is a loan to the owner by the State of Michigan. A lien will be placed on the property.
The lien will not be removed until the loan has been repaid at the time of sale or transfer of the property.




Instructions for Form 2748,
Senior Citizen or Totally and Permanently Disabled
Person’s Affidavit Requesting Special Assessment Deferment

PURPOSE

The purpose of P.A. 225 of 1976, as amended, is to defer payment
of special assessments for senior citizens ot totally and
permanently disabled persons who qualify under the act. (For a
description of special assessments see instructions for line 8.)

The State of Michigan will pay the entire balance owing of the
special assessment, including delinquent, current and future
installments. At the time of payment, a lien will be recorded in
favor of the State of Michigan. The lien will be subject to interest
at 1/2 of 1 percent per month or fraction of a month (6 percent
per year), when repaid to the State. The lien will be removed
when the deferment, plus interest, is repaid by the taxpayer or
the taxpayer’s estate.

Owners who meet the qualifications must repay the special
assessment on his and/or her homestead when:

A. The homestead or any part thereof is sold,
B. The homestead is transferred to another,

C. Acontractto sell is entered into,
D

One year has elapsed following the owner’s death, subject
to further order by the Probate Court.

(NOTE: P.A. 403 of 1980, as amended, provides for interest on
the amount of deferment, at the rate of 1 percent per month or
fraction of a month, if A, B, C or D should apply. Interest will be
computed from the date of conveyance, transfer or contractual
agreement.)

QUALIFICATIONS

To qualify for the special assessment deferment you or your
spouse (if jointly owned) must:

A. Be 65 years or older at the time of filing of this affidavit.

(Exception: If you or your spouse are totally and permanently
disabled, the age requirement is waived by authority of P.A. 360
of 1978, as amended.)

B. Have been a Michigan resident for 5 years or more and must
have owned and occupied the homestead for 5 years or more.

C. Be acitizen of the United States.

D. Household income is the total income (taxable and
nontaxable) of both spouses or of a single person maintaining
a household. It is the sum of adjusted gross income (AGI)
plus all income exempt or excluded from AGI. Total household
income includes - wages, salaries, tips; net income from a
business, rent or farm; Social Security less the amount
deducted for Medicare premiums; SSI (Supplemental
Security Income), FIA (Family Independence Agency) and
FIP (Family Independence Program) benefits; child support;
alimony; unemployment, workers’ and veterans’ disability
compensation; pension benefits; interest income; gifts and
winnings in excess of $300.00 and other sources of income
for all individuals living in the household. Household income
cannot exceed $18,732 for the year 2004.

E. Have a special assessment of $300.00 or more.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SECTION I:
(To be completed by the applicant)
Lines 1-4: Enter your complete name (or names, if owned jointly),

homestead address, social security number(s), date(s) of birth
and home telephone number.

Lines 5-7: Enter your response by checking the appropriate
boxes.

Line 8: Enter the type or purpose of the special assessment on
the line provided. A special assessment is an assessment against
real property calculated on a benefit or ad valorem basis. Special
assessments are assessments for curbs, gutters, sewers, water,
connection fees to sewers or water, sidewalks, street paving and
drains. Special assessments DO NOT include charges for current
service.

Line 9: Enter the date of the special assessment for which the
affidavit is being made.

Line 10: Enter total household income from your Michigan
Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim filed with your state income
tax return.

Line 11: Check the appropriate box. If the homestead is
mortgaged or under land contract, written consent of the
mortgagee or land contract holder allowing applicant to defer the
special assessment must be attached. Indicate if you or your
spouse are totally or permanently disabled.

Line 12: Sign and date the affidavit after reviewing all answers.

INSTRUCTIONS TO SECTION II:

(To be completed by the assessor)

Line 13: Enter the original amount of the special assessment,
including connection fees and all delinquent, current and future
installments. To qualify for deferment this amount must be $300.00
or more, excluding interest.

Line 14: Enter the total amount which has been paid on the
special assessment by the owner(s).

Line 15: Subtract line 14 from line 13 and enter the result on line
15a. This is the amount of the lien which will be placed on the
homestead. This lien may be removed at any time by paying the
full amount of the assessment deferred, plus 1/2 of 1 percent
interest per month or fraction of a month. Payments should be
made payable to the State of Michigan and mailed to:

Local Property Services

Michigan Department of Treasury
430 W. Allegan Street

Lansing, M| 48922

Enter on appropriate line 15b the amount of the special
assessment included on line 15a which is delinquent.

Line 16: Enter the legal description of the homestead as recorded
in tax assessment records.

Line 17: Sign and date this affidavit after reviewing each item to
determine that the affidavit is filled out completely and correctly.
Enter the county and the city, village or township for which you
are the assessing officer. Enter your Local Unit Federal Employer
Identification Number and your office telephone number.

When special assessments are due, submit affidavit and tax
statements to the address above.

QUESTIONS

For more information, see the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
on our Web site at www.michigan.gov/treasury. You may also
e-mail questions to treasPtd2@michigan.gov.



Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ'S)
about Deferred Special Assessments

What isa Special Assessment?

A Special Assessment is an assessment against real property calculated on a benefit or ad
valorem basis for curb and gutter, sidewalk, sewer, water, or street paving; a drain; a connection
fee or similar charge for a sewer or water system.

What isa Homestead?

Homestead means a dwelling or a unit in a multiple-unit dwelling, owned and occupied, as a
home by the owner thereof including all contiguous unoccupied real property owned by the same
person. Homestead includes a dwelling and an outbuilding used in connection with a dwelling,
situated on the lands of another.

Who is an owner?

Owner includes a person eligible for the special assessment deferment who is purchasing a
homestead under a mortgage or land contract or who owns a dwelling situated on the leased
lands of another or is atenant-stockholder of a cooperative housing corporation.

What is ‘Household’ I|ncome?

Household income is the total income (taxable and nontaxable) of both spouses or of asingle
person maintaining a household. It is the sum of adjusted grossincome (AGI) plus al income
exempt or excluded from AGI. Total household income includes - wages, salaries, tips; net
income from a business, rent or farm; Social Security less the amount deducted for Medicare
premiums; SSI (Supplemental Security Income), FIA (Family Independence Agency) and FIP
(Family Independence Program) benefits; child support; alimony; unemployment, workers and
veterans' disability compensation; pension benefits; interest income; gifts and winnings in excess
of $300.00 and other sources of income for al individuas living in the household.

Does the Household I ncome change from year to year?

The household income as defined above is indexed by the Consumer Price Index every year. The
maximum household income an owner or ownerscan havein the year 2004 is $18,732.

What arethe qualificationsfor obtaining a defer ment?

To qualify for the specia assessment deferment you or your spouse (if jointly owned) must:
a. Be65yearsor older at the time of filing of this affidavit; and

(Exception: If you or your spouse aretotally and permanently disabled, the age
requirement iswaived by authority of P.A. 360 of 1978, as amended)

b. Have been aMichigan resident for 5 years or more and must have owned and occupied the
homestead for 5 years or more; and

c. Beadcitizen of the United States; and



d. Have a household income not exceeding the limit set for the year by law. For the year 2004
the household income cannot exceed $ 18,732; and

e. Have aspecia assessment of $ 300 or more; and

f. If amortgage or an unpaid balance on aland contract encumbers the homestead, a deferment
of special assessments shall not be made without the written consent of the mortgagee or the
land contract vendor. The consent letter must state that the mortgagee or the land
contract vendor understandsthat the lien by the State of Michigan isthe‘First Lien’ on
the property.

Who approvesthe Deferment of Special Assessment?

The deferment application isinitially made to the local assessing officer in the city or township
where the property islocated. After the local assessing officer verifies the information provided,
it isforwarded to the Department of Treasury for processing. The Department of Treasury will
approve the application if all of the requirements are met.

What happens after the approval by the Department of Treasury?

After the application is approved, the Department of Treasury sends a check to the local unit of
government to pay off the special assessment. The Department of Treasury records alien on the
property in favor of State of Michigan.

What do | need to do toreleasethelien on the property?

The money advanced by the Department of Treasury is aloan to the owner of the property. Like
any other loan from a bank, the loan carries an interest (at present %2 of 1% per month). The loan
has to be paid back to the State before the lien is released.

The deferred special assessment hasto be paid back when the property issold or
transferred. If the owner of the property dies, then the loan needsto be paid within one
year after the death. If not, thereisan additional interest of 1% per month in addition to
theinterest until theloan ispaid.
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